While You Were Sleeping Beyonce Shut the Game Down With Surprise Album

Via Beyonce Tumblr

Via Beyonce Tumblr

Leave it to Bey to drop a brand spanking new album on us with no warning.

Just after midnight on the east coast, the singer suddenly released her fifth album, a  14-track self-titled album on iTunes without any pre-promotion. Details are still emerging on confirmed producers, but guests credited on the “exclusive visual album” are Jay Z, Drake, Frank Ocean and a special cameo by daughter Blue Ivy.

The album, which the singer describes in her Instagram announcement as a “visual album” includes a music video, along with three bonus video including our favorite track, “Grown Woman.”

“I see music,” Beyonce said in a video announcing the album on her Facebook page, dubbed “Self-Titled, Part 1.” “It’s more than just what I hear.  When I’m connected to something, I immediately see a visual or a series of images that are tied to a feeling or an emotion, a memory from my childhood, thoughts about life, my dreams or my fantasies.  And they’re all connected to the music.”

Bey compared her new album to her experience of watching the premiere of Michael Jackson’s “Thriller” music video with her family in the 80s. “I miss that immersive experience,” she says in the clip. “Now people only listen to a few seconds of  song on the iPods and they don’t really invest in the whole experience. It’s all about the single, and the hype. It’s so much that gets between the music and the art and the fans. I felt like, I don’t want anybody to get the message, when my record is coming out. I just want this to come out when it’s ready and from me to my fans.”

Here is the full track list.

1. Pretty Hurts

2. Haunted

3. Drunk in Love (feat. Jay Z)

4. Blow

5. No Angel

6. Partition

7. Jealous

8. Rocket

9. Mine (feat. Drake)

10. XO

11. ***Flawless (feat. Chimamanda Ngozi Adiche)

12. Superpower (feat. Frank Ocean)

13. Heaven

14. Blue (feat. Blue Ivy)

Show Comments

No Responses Yet

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.